Mission Statement

Ensure availability of health care services regardless of income.

Meetings & LOCATION

2nd Wednesday of every month at 12:30 p.m.

Health Plan of San Mateo
801 Gateway Boulevard, Suite 100
South San Francisco, CA 94080

Member Roster

Member Title Appointed Expires Representing
Don Horsley   01/01/2011   Supervisor
David J. Canepa Member 01/05/2017   Supervisor
Peggy Jensen Memeber 04/08/2015 N/A County Manager
Clancy Si France Member 07/25/2017 01/01/2021 Practicing Physician
Ligia Andrade Zuniga Member 01/10/2017 01/21/2021
Beneficiary Rep
Teresa Guingona Ferrer Member 12/18/2007 01/01/2019 Public: Senior/Minority
VACANT Member     Business Community Rep
Barbara Erbacher Chair 04/26/2005 01/01/2017  Public: At Large
Jeanette Aviles, M.D. Member 08/24/2010 01/01/2018 SM Hospital Physician
John Ferrelli Member 06/04/2013 01/01/2020 Hospital Rep
George Pon, R.Ph. Member 10/09/2013 01/01/2021 Pharmacist



11 members: 2 Supervisors; the County Manager or his designee; a physician; four public members (including a beneficiary or representative of beneficiaries served by the Commission; a representative of the senior and/or minority communities in San Mateo County; a representative of the business community, and; a public member at large); a representative of San Mateo County Hospital physicians; a representative of hospitals located in San Mateo County that serve members of the Health Plan of San Mateo; and a pharmacist.


4 years, not more than 12 years


The Health Commission, consisting of eleven commissioners appointed by the San Mateo County Board of Supervisors, is the governing body for the Health Plan of San Mateo, a local non-profit health care plan that offers health coverage and a provider network to San Mateo County's underserved population.


Board of Supervisors


$100 per meeting


Kristina M. Paszek, Deputy County Counsel
Office of the County Counsel
400 County Center, 6th Floor
Redwood City, CA 94063


Health and Safety Code Section 14087.51; Ordinance Code Section 2.4.32, Bylaws adopted October 30, 1986 and amended January 8, 1992, Ordinance No. 04245 adopted January 4, 2005;  Amended May 6, 2008, Ordinance No. 04422.